Posted by: kerryalina | 2 March 2012

Challenge Class 16: This post may be TMI

Go back and read the title again.  Got it?  Okay.  Consider yourself warned.

I struggled in class today.  Struggled HARD.  And it wasn’t because of the heat, or the poses, or my muscles… no.  It was freaking gas.  I felt like my stomach was going to rupture from internal pressure.  Forward bends were impossible (compression of the abdominal wall… ow!).  Backbends were impossible (stretching of the abdominal wall… ow!).  I did the first four postures, then sat out as least one set of the rest of standing series.  The spine strengthening series… well.  I couldn’t even lie on my stomach without crying.  I managed to pull it together in the last 30 minutes for a lacklustre finale, but to say I’m disappointed (and in pain!) would be an understatement.

It’s a fairly new phenomenon – after 27 years of gleefully eating exactly what I want, my body has decided in the last six months that it really doesn’t appreciate something that I’m feeding it.  What that is, I’m not sure, but I have tests scheduled next week to determine if I have developed sensitivities to lactose, fructose and/or gluten.  The best possible scenario is that one of them will come back positive and I’ll have to cut whatever that is out of my diet.  Since these three categories encompass 98% of what I eat, I’m slightly freaked out and more than a little upset.  Slightly worse scenario is that two or more come back positive.  If that’s the case, I see malnutrition (followed by starvation and death) in my very near future.  And the absolute worst case scenario, of course, is that everything comes back absolutely clear and I’m back to having no answers and no solution for constant pain.

I can’t help but wonder if my sudden inability to digest (unknown) is Bikram-related – the timing does seem awfully suspicious.  Surely if, as Bikram claims, this yoga can cure diabetes then it could theoretically affect the absorption of foodstuffs other than sugar?  Now I love my yoga, I truly do.  It makes my laundry constantly reek of nasty, sweaty feet, but I keep going.  It reduces my alcohol tolerance to one glass of wine… one SMALL glass of wine… and I just laugh.  But at the moment I’m staring at one question and I really don’t know the answer.

“Do I love Bikram more than cheese?”

Leave a Reply

Categories

