Posted by: kerryalina | 10 March 2012

Challenge Class 23: Difficulties with Downward Dog

Here’s how to identify a Bikram yoga student:

  1. Student gets a cramp in her calf during class.
  2. Teacher recommends Student does Downward Dog to relieve the pain.
  3. Student’s response is: “Ummmmm… what?”

Downward Dog is one of the most basic/fundamental yoga postures around.  I know this.  What I don’t know is how, exactly, to do it.  I know it’s some sort of, like, upside-down “V” thing?  Right?  Kind of?  I think???  But I’ve only ever done Bikram yoga, you guys.  This is the Bikram yoga series:

Bikram Postures

Do you know what you don’t see in there?  ANY BLOODY DOWNWARD DOGS.

Maybe once I’ve finished this challenge, I’ll look into going to some other yoga studios in the area for one class a week.  Ones that do downward dog.  I hear it’s great for leg cramps.

Responses

  1. LOL!!!!

  2. I am in love with your blog! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and challenges in such a truthful and humorous way! All the best. :). -Kate

    • Thanks Kate! I kind of started it in self-defence (my friends were threatening violence if I kept flooding their Facebook feeds with sweaty yoga “insights”), but I wasn’t expecting writing about Bikram to be so much FUN! Glad you’re enjoying it as much as I am :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

