Posted by: kerryalina | 22 April 2012

Challenge Class 60: COMPLETE!

Sutra 1.14: Sa tu dirghakalanairantaryasatkaradarasevito drdhabhumih.

“It is only when the correct practice is followed for a long time, without interruptions and with a quality of positive attitude and eagerness, that it can succeed.”

Six classes a week for ten weeks.  60 classes in 70 days.  I don’t know if that’s enough to qualify as “a long time.”  I don’t know how to judge if I’ve “succeeded” in my practice.  But I know that I’ve learnt more through daily practice over the last two and a half months than I did practicing three times a week in the year beforehand.  And I know that I’ve succeeded with at least one thing: my commitment to the yoga and to myself.

When I considered signing up for this challenge, I was so focussed on whether I could physically complete that many consecutive days of yoga and whether I could logistically put aside the time for class.  I thought that my stumbling blocks would be injuries and illnesses; social engagements and working late.  I never even considered the immense emotional impact it would have.  I couldn’t have imagined that the hardest part would be coming face to face with my Self in the hot room, or heading to the studio when all I wanted to do was sit at home and cry.  I also wouldn’t have guessed how effortless it would be to maintain that quality of “positive attitude and eagerness” – just how much I’d look forward to class (nearly) every day.

If I’d known at the start just how difficult the challenge would be, I don’t think I ever would have begun.  I am so, so thankful that I didn’t know – this has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.  If anyone out there is even vaguely contemplating doing one, my advice is to start today.  Don’t wait for the perfect time.  The perfect time is always now.

Responses

  1. I am SO PROUD of you. I’ve got tears. SO proud.

  2. Congratulations on your accomplishment!!! Keep up the great work.

  3. Well done!

  4. congrats!!

  5. Rock on!!! Sooo awesome and inspiring!

  6. Congratulations! You’re amazing. The fact that you stuck with it, even when it was hard, and that you added to your challenge, is awesome! Good job! Also, I agree that the right time is always now. Enjoy your awesomeness!

  7. I was actually contemplating posting about how mentally and emotionally demanding the 30 Day Moksha Challenge has been so far, where I also only anticipted physican and logistics problems. I’m glad to see I’m not alone in those feelings. Great job with this challenge!

    • Absolutely not alone! As some of my teachers like to say… “It’s normal to feel weird, and it’s weird to feel normal!”

  8. Thank you for posting this – a great achievement, and an inspiration.

  9. Congratulations! I’m glad that you made it through! I’ve been having some very emotional classes lately so I know what you mean when you say that facing your Self can be really hard. It’s also very humbling. Congrats again and I look forward to your next journey!

    • Thanks hon! “It’s also very humbling.” – truer words were never spoken :)

  10. CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Congratulations honey <3 I am so happy and proud of and for you!!! Guess what? I'm at day four .. just starting the journey you just finished… you have been an inspiration and a kick !! Wish me luck.. I have a feeling I'm going to need lots of it ..

    • Oh, that’s awesome!! Huge congrats for making the commitment and I hope you enjoy the ride :)

      • Thank you :) Once again must say you have been an inspiration to do both ( blogging and bikram challenge ). Thank you so much and never stop writing about this, it keeps me going ! <3

  12. […] from Melbourne, Australia who had also started her challenge this year, and she has actually just finished her 60 day challenge on Friday the 13th (April 2012).  Reading her blog about the difficulties she faced and just how good she felt after it, not only […]

  13. To everyone who left comments and sent emails and shared the love – thank you so much! You guys made all the difference throughout this whole amazing process xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

