Posted by: kerryalina | 29 April 2012

Insanity

You know how to tell that you’re a) a Bikram addict and b) COMPLETELY insane?  You sign up for a 60 day challenge.  You finish a 60 day challenge.  You stick an extra week and a half on the end to turn it into a ten week challenge and finish THAT.  You take a week off from the studio to “recover” (AKA sit on the couch and eat chocolate)… and then a friend posts on your Facebook wall.

Hey, wanna do something crazy?
Wanna do a 30 day challenge with me starting 1 May??????????

What I should have said was: “Well, you know, I’ve only just finished a huge-ass challenge that nearly killed me both emotionally and physically and I think it might be time to recover and also find some balance in my life.  Or rather, you know, actually have a life.”

BUT DO YOU THINK I SAID THAT?  No.  And you know why not?  Because that would have made TOO MUCH SENSE.

So.  I’m totally doing a 30 day challenge starting on 1st May.  Which means I’ll have 100 days of challenge under my belt with a break of just over a week in the middle… making it a grand total of 108 DAYS.  AND (drumroll please) the whole shebang will end on May 30th… otherwise known as my yogaversary.  That’s right – this whole insane challenge marathon will finish on the day that marks the end of my first year of practice.

Obviously it’s meant to be.

Plus, in case you missed it, I’m INSANE.

Responses

  1. Very cool! And I’ll be doing my 60 day starting May 4th so we’ll be doing most of the 30 days together.

    • Hey, that’s awesome!!! Mutual cheerleaders ftw :)

  2. You are totally insane and I think I totally love you for it :) haha..

    • Hahahaha I’m glad someone does! I think my non-yoga friends are just about ready to hold an intervention :P

      • Ah don’t pay attention to them :P If you feel good doing it, I say why not!?

  3. Hi there, I saw you visited my blog, thanks for liking my post! Melbourne + Yoga, we have so much in common ;) good luck with your new challenge, I’m very impressed!

    • I saw the Australia connection, but didn’t realise you’d been in Melbourne!! Small world :)

      • Yup yup, lived in Fitzroy for 4 years, and coming back to Melbourne in the spring :)

  4. Sounds like you found your passion. IMO you absolutely should do the teacher training. Later in life you may not be able to drop everything and go. (Esp. if you have kids.)

    • Oh man, I’d kill for it… but I don’t think it’s going to happen. At least not this year. $20k is a hefty investment and finances just aren’t working out!

  5. best of luck with the challenge! you can do it :)

    • Thanks hon! I’m going to DIE. I can’t wait :D

      • hahaha, that’s the spirit! :D

  6. GO FOR IT!!!

    • Hahahaha OMG I was all “I AM YOGI HEAR ME RAWR”… and then I realised that unlike my 60 day challenge, this one will be seven days a week. Eeeeeeek!

  7. All I can think to myself is “Aren’t you tiiiiiiired?” But I also feel super excited at the same time!!! Your body is going to be carved out of STONE. No more I’m-Not-Fit talk for you, missy!

    • I think it’s a bit like (what I’ve heard about) childbirth – during the process it’s incredibly difficult/painful/OMG I’M GOING TO DIE… but within a ridiculously short time, your brain blocks out all the bad stuff and just leaves you with the shiny memories ;) I’ve had a week off though, so my first class back is likely to bring me back to Earth with a thump!

  8. You are such an inspiration!!!!

    • Lol! I make crazy look good. ;)

  9. Sounds like we’re birds of a feather! I hope you take care of yourself, though, and give yourself a break when you need one. :)

    • Not to worry – I’m still incurably lazy at heart! I foresee many, many days of sitting on the couch after I’m done :)

  10. Congrats! So glad i found your blog as I just did my first bikram class today! I plan to do the 60 day challenge as well but probably not until July or so as i’m going on vacation in June. Very inspiring!


Leave a Reply

Categories

