Posted by: kerryalina | 9 March 2013

Gratuitous Photo Shoot

This isn’t a real post.  It’s an excuse to share pretty pictures.

Last night, I had a handful of free tickets to a ballet performance at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl.  It was a picnic-on-the-grass type of thing and since it was so low-key and accessible, I took a bunch of friends who hadn’t had a great deal of exposure to ballet before.  I was really anxious before the performance, fretting that it would rain, that my friends wouldn’t enjoy it  since it wasn’t really their “thing,” that we would be too far from the stage to see anything.  I needn’t have worried.  It was a perfect night, made even better by the weather and company.

Super Happy Ballet Friends!

Super Happy Ballet Friends!

(That's me on the right)

(That’s me on the right)

Wandering through the Royal Botanical Gardens after the performance, we came across a beautifully lit fountain.  Inspired by the dancers we’d just seen, the gorgeous scenery and (above all) the presence of cameras… I’m sure you can imagine what happened next.

Balancing Stick

Yoga in a dress. Just realised the boys behind me got a hell of a show…

 

Kisses

Poses by the non-yogis

 

Standing Bow

Possibly my favourite photo of me, EVER.

 

bEsT fRiEnDs 4EVA!!!

bEsT fRiEnDs 4EVA!!!

I’ve wanted some photos of my postures forever, but it just never seemed to work out.  But here I was, suddenly presented with patient friends, a stunning backdrop and (most importantly) weather hot enough that my muscles already felt warmed up!  It was obviously meant to be :)

 

Responses

  1. Love this!

  2. Those are amazing!!!!!!

  3. lovely shots!!

  4. Excellent photos! Hoping all is well for you!!

  5. Fantastic standing bow pulling pose!! very inspiring!

  6. love the photos! very cute!

  7. Thanks everyone! It was crazy-fun, although now I keep staring at that Standing Bow and wondering how my shoulder got sooooo far away from my chin!

  8. I love the shot of you and the fountain (also your gravatar). Beautiful alignment and colours :-)

  9. That does NOT look like someone who can’t balance! Well done!!

    • Split second photographs hide a multitude of sins ;) Plus I was balancing on the ledge of the fountain, which was just barely wider than my foot… it’s amazing how long you can hold a pose when you know that a fall will land you in cold water!

      • Hahahaha OK I will have to try that! New secrets. ;-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

